Dr. Ahmed Busnaina

CTO, Nano OPS, Inc. Distinguished University Professor, W. L. Smith Professor and Director, NSF Nanoscale Science and Engineering center for High-rate Nanomanufacturing Northeastern University, Boston, MA, USA

Ahmed Busnaina, Ph.D. is the William Lincoln Smith Chair Professor, University Distinguished Professor, and founding Director of National Science Foundation’s Nanoscale Science and Engineering Center (NSEC) for High-rate Nanomanufacturing and the NSF Center for Nano and Microcontamination Control at Northeastern University, Boston, MA. Prior to joining Northeastern University in 2000, he was a professor and a director of the Microcontamination Control Lab at Clarkson University from 1983-2000. Dr. Busnaina is internationally recognized for his work on nano and micro scale defects mitigation and removal in semiconductor fabrication. He specializes in nanoscale printing of 2D and 3D structures for devices and sensors. He developed many techniques for the directed assembly of nanomaterials for the manufacturing of nanoscale structures for energy, electronics, biomedical and materials applications. His research support exceeds $54 million. He authored more than 600 papers in journals, proceedings and conferences. Organized and chaired more than 175 conferences, workshops, sessions and panels for many professional societies. He is an editor of the Microelectronic Engineering associate editor of the Journal of Nanoparticle Research. He also serves on many advisory boards including Samsung Electronics; Chemical Industry Nanomaterials Roadmap, International Technology Roadmap for Semiconductors, Electronic Materials Letters, Journal of Particulate Science and Technology, Journal of Environmental Sciences, Journal of Advanced Applications in Contamination Control. He is a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and the Adhesion Society, a Fulbright Senior Scholar and listed in Who’s Who in the World, in America, in science and engineering, etc.). He was awarded the 2006 Nanotech Briefs National Nano50 Award, Innovator category, the 2006 Outstanding Faculty, SØren Buus Outstanding Research Award, Northeastern University 2006, the 2005 Aspiration Award, Northeastern University.